If you plan to bring horses in to visit, know that you are taking a risk…and I would strongly encourage you to check out this article or this one, the information contained therein is not only not to be confused or confused with the horse care rules that exist in Connecticut, but it appears to be the most up-to-date, complete and correct in terms of both the state animal laws and regulations, that has been published in print in Connecticut since at least 2010 in the Hartford Law Review. The rule that we have come up with is simple and straightforward. Anyone bringing a horse to the Horse Park in Merrimack Valley National Historic Park, to be put out on exhibit at our annual Horse Expo, MUST register the Horse with the Connecticut Department of Agriculture and Markets prior to the event, and have the Horse released back to the rider as soon as the Expo is complete This is the single most important rule a horse may cross your path, and it is the only time a state is required to make available a free horse to a rider that is doing something legally and legally acceptable in terms of the horse safety laws and animal care rules. If you do not, as a rider, follow this rule, a reasonable person might question your judgment…or wonder if you really plan to have the horse released back to your saddle.
It should also be noted that the Horse Expo is a closed down event, that the Horse must be released back to the rider, as soon as the Expo is over.. Even more importantly, any horses that are taken off exhibit (i.e. on their way to another location) MUST go to the Animal Protection center and/or the Department of Agriculture and Markets Horse Sanctuary for up to 8 days, or until all of the horses are returned to their owner. If you have not returned the horses to your home, you may be subject to a fine up to $100 by the Animal Protection Center or the Department of Agriculture and Markets Horse Sanctuary. If you do not do this, and if a rider violates the “Official Rules, Regulations and Regulations” of The Farm Horse Show, this person is subject to a fine up to $50,000 by the Department of Agriculture and Markets and/or the Horse Sanctuary.
No rider, including a rider for hire, is allowed in the animal care area during the Horse Expo at The Farm Horse Show. No other person is allowed to be in the animal care areas during the Horse Expo at The Farm Horse Show. It is not necessary to register with the County in which you wish to do such riding. The County of Merrimack does not keep any horse or pony you may consider to be “fenced” in, i.e. protected against use. No rider is allowed to take any horse, pony, lamb or any other animal protected from their use that is not registered with the Merrimack County Department of Agriculture and Markets before or during the Horse Expo, or after the Horse Expo. If you are attending the Horse Expo in Merrimack, do not ride a horse that is free, without a registered County-issued license or Certificate of Safety. A County-issued license or Certificate of Safety must be in your immediate possession to operate a horse that was not registered.
We would also strongly discourage the use of any horses with physical issues, or with long or complicated histories. If you have an issue, let your local County animal control official know before the Expo begins, if you plan to bring a horse, or if you are buying a horse to register when the Expo begins (we will issue a license for you), or if you have spent thousands of hours with a horse of a similar design. For a full list of the rules and regulations of this event, please click here .
If you live outside of Merrimack, to keep you from missing out on the Horse Expo and all of the horse related fun, our Horse and Farm Car Show, the Horse and Farm Show is held two Saturday’s/seasons each year right in front of the historic Whitehorse and The Farm Village. You can’t travel down to Whitehorse or The Farm Village to catch the Farm Car Show, the Horse and Farm Car Show ONLY happens at the Farm Horse Show. The Farm Car Show is open the day before the Festival, and lasts until 7pm. If you are attending the Farm Car Show in Whitehorse, do not walk down to Whitehorse to catch the Farm Car Show. You must purchase your tickets a week in advance to purchase a ticket to the Farm Car Show.